Grade A Certified

Pill feat. Young Dro, Rocko & AllStar – “Dope Boys”

Posted by J. Tinsley on August 10, 2010

Someone needs to get someone at Grand Hustle on the horn and get this Young Dro project moving. It’s been a minute since I heard new music from a guy who was once considered Pau Gasol to T.I.’s Kobe. Nowadays it’s all about B.o.B. – an artist I’m a fan of (dropped purchase-worthy debut LP), but a totally different artist from Dro.

Turns out the next place I’ll turn to hear some new material from the Polo Don is Southern Slang 16. On the tape is a Pill record entitled “Dope Boys’” featuring the likes of All-Star (who also produces the track), Rocko and Dro. Off first few listens, the only thing I’m not a huge fan of the hook, but the verses make up for that. Well, Pill’s verse was dope and one that shows how life is changing (yet, staying the same) for the Pink City native. However, it’s a reason I’ve focused on Dro this much so far.

It’s verses like this which make me wish P.O.L.O. (Players Only Live Once) would see a release date with a serious push. I could be overrating it, but I don’t think that’s the case with lines like: Take the bricks from here to Alabama, call it ‘Blow Control’/And yo b!tch stay on her knees, call it blow patrol/Came to court, you know I be with Pill/So I’m supposed to roll/N!ggas think they #1, that’s when I demote them hoes/Ain’t nobody sick as me, I got this corroded flow.

Glad to see that Yung LA phase for Dro was just that…A phase.

DL: Pill feat. Young Dro & All-Star – “Dope Boys” (prod. by All Star)

Leave a Reply

 
