Grade A Certified

The Reality Rap Of Big K.R.I.T.

Posted by J. Tinsley on May 21, 2010

“Lord, I ain’t ya best son/ I ain’t been to church in awhile/ But on this liquor, I confess somethin’…”

Home is where the heart is. In most cases.

Since it’s birth nearly three decades ago, Hip-Hop has had its heart in many a homes. Los Angeles, Houston, Miami, Atlanta, Philadelphia, Chicago and the “mecca,” New York. Absent from that listen is Mississippi. Aside from David Banner, Mississippi has never etched an indelible mainstream impact in the genre.

With that in mind, meet Big K.R.I.T. (the one with the pool stick, FYI)

Straight out the aforementioned southern state, he’s actually been releasing music for years. Like it is in most cases, it takes time for the masses to finally take notice. For those unfamiliar, you’ll probably recognize his name from Wiz Khalifa’s “Glass House” off Kush & Orange Juice. What you may not know is about the recently release of K.R.I.T. Wuz Here. It’s a trip through the mind of a man whose only love is music, but battles daily with invisible glass ceiling his birth state unknowingly forces upon him. To add to the pot, the entire project was produced entirely by him. And by entirely, I mean 100%.

“Good Enough” is an excellent introduction. These next few sentences are a reflection of what I took away from the song. For anyone who has ever left home and returned whether to live or visit, there’s a certain sense of pride and unknown expectations which overcome you. You get to experience the world, the goods and bads. It’s an experience which can never be taken lightly. It’s something many of those same people you grew up with can never relate to because the world, in their eyes, doesn’t expand beyond their own area code. You’re supposed to be more than what you were when you left. You’re expected to embed your name into the fabric of the town – something the community can be proud of.

However, throughout that journey away from home, lessons are taught. Mistakes occur. Friendships are made. Friendships are broken. Simply put, life happens. These emotions emit themselves in the truest form on this sampled banger from K.R.I.T. I’ve said it before, and have no problem saying it again – I love honest music. We’re all humans and we all put our pants on one leg at a time. So when I hear songs like this, which resonate the same innermost fears that flash through my mental at times, I gravitate towards these records.

Point blank, it’s real music. Real enough to get past the Pimp C-like voice at times. Real enough to sit and shake my head to. Real enough for me to take a step back and say, “I’m living that right now.” That’s why I love Hip-Hop. And why I probably always will. So yeah, hopefully you enjoy this track and feel it in your soul to check out more music from Big K.R.I.T. I promise you’ll leave with a sense of fulfillment.

“It’s hard to be broke and do better…”

DL: Big K.R.I.T. – “Good Enough”

DL: Big K.R.I.T. – “K.R.I.T. Wuz Here” (entire album)

Leave a Reply

 
