Grade A Certified

Big Sean Is Bullsh*tting (by J. Tinsley)

Posted by T. Adeyemi on May 14, 2010

The story of Big Sean is an interesting one from my perspective. When everyone was on the CuDi campaign, I chose to side with Sean. Especially when UKNOWBIGSEAN dropped around this time last year. I couldn’t get into CuDi’s emo-let-me-howl-at-the-moon style of music. If I needed that depressing, introspective stuff, I had Mood Muzik 1-3.5 to handle that for me. Sean was more of an entertaining figure to me. He wasn’t the greatest rapper, but he was fun to listen to.

I had always wondered why Kanye and G.O.O.D. seemed to put him on the back burner while the kid from Cleveland was gaining so much love. Endorsements and everything. Since then, I’ve taken a musical liking to CuDi and respect his style. I’m man enough to admit when I’m wrong about someone. He’s still not my favorite, but he does have his moments. Now, to Sean. Here I am a year later still waiting on Finally Famous. Thankfully, its finally catching some steam. The leak with Drake a few days ago may have been unfinished, but it let me know the wheels were churning, at least behind the scenes.

While Kanye is on whatever island he’s on preparing to put the entire industry on ice, I’ll gladly take a Big Sean album to hold me over until then. Yesterday, his first ‘official’ single, “What You Doing? (Bullshitting),” dropped. I’m just now getting the chance to give it a spin. Backed by a quirky instrumental from The Olympicks, Sean embeds his flow well enough to garner more than a few spins. Some changes have to be made if this is going to get past radio, but it is a nice tune for the summer. The “conehead” line was kind of funny, no bullsh#t. The only problem is it’s only two and a half minutes long. Thankfully, he cleared that concern up via the world’s greatest publicist – Twitter.

Regardless, all I can really do is hope.  Hope that this is a sign that Finally Famous will finally drop sometime soon.

DL: Big Sean – “What U Doing? (Bullshitting)”

Leave a Reply

 
