Grade A Certified

ESPN 30 for 30: Allen Iverson “No Crossover” Documentary

Posted by T. Adeyemi on April 14, 2010

Admittedly, I’ve never been a huge Allen Iverson supporter, but there are times in people’s lives where you put aside any dislike you may of had for them and you begin to root for them. This the feeling the engulfs me now after having an opportunity to review Iverson’s story as a part of ESPN’s 30 for 30 series. The documentary which is directed by Oscar nominee Steve James details the story of Iverson’s court case spurring from a brawl on Valentine’s Day in 1993 at a bowling alley in Hampton, VA.

As a student of Hampton University in Hampton, VA immediately my attention was grabbed having not fully known about the Iverson saga that ensued after that faithful night. It is always an odd thing to watch on the news or see on television references to places you’ve been before, noticing how things may have changed over time. Having been to Spare Times bowling alley in Hampton on many occasions not only to bowl but also to party strangely enough it wasn’t that hard for me to imagine the chaos that filled that building that night. The video of the event only giving glimpses of what appears to be a complete brawl amongst all present.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

All in all, I must say I was touched by this recount of the events of that night. Iverson’s normally hard shell would make most viewers feel numb to his pains and hardships. However, I’ve been to “The Bottom” of Newport News where he grew up, and I’ve seen the struggles of the people living there. Iverson quite certainly is a product of his enviroment. Yet, he was able to rise above the general census of what was to be his outcome to reach a higher plateau. Yes, he was blessed with athletic talent that granted him a way out of his bad upbringing, but he unlike so many others did not waste his second chance to succeed.

The racism and unfairness in regards to his trial are unfortunately what has come to be expected in many areas of today’s supposedly “liberal” America. To this day I can still ride through the rural parts of the seven cities of Virginia and see plenty of confederate flags still flying proudly. “No Crossover” is more than a representation of one man’s struggle. Instead, as the people of Hampton mention in the video it is a representation of all the Black people of Hampton & Newport News because he was their hope. The next time I think to criticize Allen Iverson for his faults on the court I certainly will remember what he has been through off the court as well.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

–T. Adeyemi

Props – WSHH

4 Responses to “ESPN 30 for 30: Allen Iverson “No Crossover” Documentary”

  1. juanski said

    good write up jeezy ….

  2. […] Grade A: ESPN 30 for 30: Allen Iverson “No Crossover” Documentary […]

  3. Finlandiya Hava Yolları, Finlandiya airlines, Uçak Bileti, Air tickets, Finlandiya uçak…

    […]ESPN 30 for 30: Allen Iverson “No Crossover” Documentary « Grade A Certified[…]…

  4. Hi! I know this is somewhat off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does managing a well-established blog like yours take a
    lot of work? I am brand new to writing a blog however I do write in my diary on a daily basis.
    I’d like to start a blog so I can share my own experience and views online. Please let me know if you have any suggestions or tips for new aspiring bloggers. Thankyou!

Leave a Reply

 
