Grade A Certified

New Video: Usher Feat. Will.I.Am – “OMG”

Posted by T. Adeyemi on March 30, 2010

Judging by the title alone I wasn’t sure how I should feel about this track. But after watching this video only even more confusion has set in about Usher’s current musical direction. Maybe its just me (highly doubt it) but is Usher at this point in his career attempting to reinvent himself? Maybe find himself again even. I’ve never been one to judge without fact or provocation, but apparently Usher’s divorce has scrambled his musical judgement.

Because the collage of different tracks that have been released from his upcoming sixth album Raymond v. Raymond have been anything BUT cohesive. Let’s survey them momentarily.  First, came the buzz single of “Papers” back in October ’09 which clearly cemented Usher’s split from his ex-wife Tameka Foster and subsequently hit number 1 on the R&B/Hip-Hop Billboard charts. Then, the official first single of “Hey Daddy (Daddy’s Home)” which featured Plies. At this point, all the Urrsher fans were excited about the project and it began to look like the man who dominated R& B over the past decade was on his way back to the top.

Until, the promo singles of  “There Goes My Baby” & “More” were released in February & early March respectively. Although, “There Goes My Baby” has started to grow on me, the latter still makes me cringe when I hear it. My dislike for “More” is generally still related back to the utter foolishness that Usher decided to wear while performing the song at the 2010 NBA All-Star game.

Currently, and Thankfully we have the second official single “Little Freak” featuring Ms. Barbie reincarnated aka Nicki Minaj. But as soon as you begin to raise your hopes for a string of hits from Sir Raymond he presents you with this video featuring Will.I.Am. Honestly, as a life-long Usher fan I am confused and bewildered at the musical decisions Usher has made. It seems to me he is truly taking the Raymond v. Raymond album title to heart. Except,unfortunately there’s a hit making Raymond, and a sub par Raymond that continually are being divided.

Hopefully, the split personalities do not deter Usher’s fans from picking up his album which hit shelves this morning. If after reading this you still want to see the video, then shamelessly press play. But don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Leave a Reply

 
