Grade A Certified

Catalog Catch Up: Busta Rhymes feat. Eminem – “I’ll Hurt You (remix)” (by J. Tinsley)

Posted by T. Adeyemi on March 24, 2010

Chances are whenever I drop my debut mixtape, eastcoasttoyotacamrysunroofmuzik, and Eminem starts blowing up my phone for a guest feautre, I’m going to tell him no. I’ll never admit this to him, but I’d be scared as all hell to rap alongside this guy. For all the things people may say about him, one thing you can’t deny is that his flow is on some parallel universe, perfect stuff. It’s possible you may have heard a “wack” Eminem song once or twice in your day, but I can bet his flow was on point nonetheless.

That said, one of my favorite Eminem guest features was on the Busta Rhymes cut, “I’ll Hurt You (remix).” To Busta’s credit, he definitely held his own. But dude is legend, so I expected nothing less prior to listening. However, when it was time for Marshall to lyrically exercise, he more than lived up to the hype. His guest verse was so crazy that I couldn’t even type it correctly. I tried for about 15 minutes with no luck. My apologies.

He took Busta’s flow and flipped it better than he did. It’s like watching a basketball game where one player has a play which makes you shake your head in amazement. That was Busta. Then, out of nowhere, another superstar makes a play that leaves you speechless with a tear in your eye. And then after you realize what the hell just happened, you snap. That’s Em.

So on this latest installment of Catalog Catch Up, allow yourself to flashback to the glory days of Shady/Aftermath. Back when they were the most powerful force in Hip-Hop. It really doesn’t seem that long ago now that I think about it.

DL: Busta Rhymes feat. Eminem – “I’ll Hurt You (remix)”

Leave a Reply

 
