Grade A Certified

Mario Releases Video for Third Single – “Ooh Baby”

Posted by T. Adeyemi on January 21, 2010

From the looks of things, the end of 2009 into 2010 we’ll be seeing somewhat of an emergence of true R&B. Nothing against the likes of Iyaz, Jay Sean,  & Sean Kingston, they make entertaining music at times; but what I’m looking for is the soul of R&B. Surely when the genre got its name it was for good reason. And lately it seems with a lot of acts there’s been much more rhythm, aka Pop in R&B than there has been Blues. But when I begin to get discouraged about the industry loosing the essence of what real R&B sounds like, artists like Mario help to remind me.

Today Mario released the visual for his thrid single from his fourth album entitled, D.N.A. Unfortunately, it seems that Mario is loosing listenership instead of gaining it. Even Mario commented in response to his lackluster album sales in an interview with Billboard.

“I can’t say why I don’t get my just due, but it only makes me hungrier,” he says. “I want to continue challenging myself and making incredible music that will connect with fans around the world. I plan to keep creating a distinctive lane for myself.

People, I hope you continue to support artists that are truly talented like Mario. Hopefully, this single (which I particularly like) will gather more support then his second single “Thinkin’ About You.”

With Mario’s ability and drive I would bet he’ll be around for a few more albums either way. Especially since he is in my Top 5 in the R&B game right now. But that’s another post coming very soon.

“Be Real, Be True, Keep it 100.”

True fans of Mario check out his official website as well.

Click Here for the Video

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Leave a Reply

 
