Grade A Certified

Billboard Breakdown (1/13) -by J. Tinsley

Posted by Mr. Put On on January 13, 2010

mary-j-blige-and-alicia-keys

My apologies for slacking off on this in recent weeks. Without further adieu, let’s get right into it.

2) Susan Boyle – I Dreamed A Dream – 93,538

  • Although she lost her top spot to Ke$ha, I’m still holding on to my prediction she’s at least going to do 5x platinum. Can’t knock the hustle.

4) Alicia Keys – The Element Of Freedom – 63,371

  • Personally, this was my pick for R&B album of the year so I’m thrilled to see Miss Keys doing her numbers. While I understand her reasoning for shooting a video with Beyonce for “Put It In A Love Song”, a visual for “Unthinkable (I’m Ready)” would be monumental. That song is beyond amazing.

5) Mary J. Blige – Stronger With Each Tear – 49,164

  • Since T.I. is in a halfway house and can leave during the day for “employment,” why not go ahead and shoot a video for “Good Love?” It’s up-tempo. It’s radio friendly. And, if nothing else, it’d serve as Tip’s “return” to music.

9) Justin Bieber – My World – 34,316

  • This kid keeps selling. And selling. And selling. And selling…

13) Young Money – We Are Young Money – 24,866

  • I’d like to see the total numbers for this, but Weezy and the gang only saw themselves drop one spot from last week. Maybe a video for “Play In My Band” which could serve as cross promo for Rebirth which is scheduled to hit shelves next month? Just a suggestion.

24) Robin Thicke – Sex Therapy – 16,133

  • Damn good album which deserves better numbers. I still say he should get Maxwell for an official remix for “Sex Therapy.”

29) Beyonce – I Am…Sasha Fiece – 13,178

  • Keep in mind this album  has been out for over a year and it’s still in the top 30.  Again, you can’t knock the hustle. No pun intended.

39) Gucci Mane – The State Vs. Radric Davis – 11,317

  • For his next album, Warner Bros. need to let Gucci make his “own” album and not force him to make those horrible attempts at “singles.”

42) Chris Brown – Graffiti – 10,393

  • I’m still surprised a video for “Famous Girl” hasn’t surfaced yet. That needs to be the next single. That’s if they’re even still promoting this album.

46) Snoop Dogg –  Malice N Wonderland – 9,886

  • He’s re-releasing the album on March 9 with some new records including the G-Mix of “I Wanna Rock” with Jay-Z. Until then, I still want a video for “Special.” Hell, release it on Valentine’s Day.
Leave a Reply

 
