Grade A Certified

Wild Card Weekend Reflection

Posted by J. Tinsley on January 11, 2010

https://i0.wp.com/wwwimage.cbsnews.com/images/2010/01/11/image6081105.jpg

There’s a reason why I’m a fan and not on ESPN (yet). Wild Card weekend made a mockery of my pre-game predictions and I for one couldn’t be more thrilled about it. Hear me out.

https://i1.wp.com/wwwimage.cbsnews.com/images/2010/01/09/image6076663.jpg

Cincinnati Bengals vs. New York Jets

My Prediction: Sanchez, who I believe will be a damn good quarterback, has been known to turn the ball over quite a few times in initial season. Cincy’s defense would force him into bad decisions and Cincy’s offense would capitalize. Ochocinco would somehow outdo Revis thus leading to a great week on antics.

What Actually Happened: The Jets defense happened. Cincy’s offense didn’t happen. Revis shut down Ochocinco, happened.

0-1

https://i1.wp.com/wwwimage.cbsnews.com/images/2010/01/10/image6079323.jpg

New England Patriots vs. Baltimore Ravens

My Prediction: I knew the Ravens are a very tough out in the playoffs. But I couldn’t bet against Tom and Bill.

What Actually Happened: The Ravens basically ran New England out of their own building. Wes Welker’s absence proved he’s a top five receiver in the league. I’m still not believing this whole “era” is over talk.

0-2

https://i0.wp.com/wwwimage.cbsnews.com/images/2010/01/11/image6081103.jpg

Green Bay Packers vs. Arizona Cardinals

My Prediction: This was going to be a shoot out for the ages. But there is no way the football gods would allow a Green Bay vs. Favre match up for the third times in the playoffs. No way in hell.

What Actually Happened: Well, it was a shoot out. However, the Cardinals won the shoot out and my conspiracy theory was made a mockery of.

0-3

https://i2.wp.com/wwwimage.cbsnews.com/images/2010/01/10/image6077925.jpg

Philadelphia Eagles vs. Dallas Cowboys

My Prediction: I didn’t care how or by much, I just needed the Cowboys to win. Admittedly, I was a nervous wreck before kickoff.

What Actually Happened: Prayers were answered and focus has already shifted to Minnesota. There’s not many more beautiful sites in sports than watching an Eagles fan have a defeated look upon their face because they just lost to the Cowboys. Twice in six days, too. But who’s keeping count?

1-3


One Response to “Wild Card Weekend Reflection”

  1. Classic Ice said

    Not real happy about the eagles losing but it happened. The Cowboys were just a better team this season. 3 games is no fluke I tell you. I would keep a close eye on the Jets, they got a shut down corner and a tough running game and that always helps in the playoffs. Im glad the Cowboy fans are happy ’14 years is a long time to wait for a playoff win.

Leave a Reply

 
