Grade A Certified

I remember the days…

Posted by Oak Jones on December 23, 2009

I finally got a chance to view the entire Allen Iverson interview in which he was being welcomed back to his rightful home of Philadelphia. Trust me, I’m not an emotional guy, but in listening to A.I. speak, it really had me thinking… “Allen isn’t that young guard out of Georgetown anymore.” Age is something that catches up to all of us at one point or another.

June 26, 1996 will be a day that will forever have a place in my heart. That year’s NBA draft class will always be something to remember…

In dwelling back, I was about nine years old; and my father let me stay up later than usual so I could watch “history in the making” as he so aptly stated. It’s hard to believe that June ’96 was almost 14 years ago. While many of these players are reaching the age of retirement (with the exception of #24), it really just puts everything into perspective, you know? As one generation of legends take their last hoorah within the coming years, they’ve definitely paved the way for the NBA’s future stars.

Just a Recap:
1
Finals MVP
4 Reg. Season MVP’s
4 All-Star Game MVP’s
5 Defensive POY Awards
14 All-NBA Def. 1st Team
18 All-NBA 1st Team
57 All-Star Selections

Thanks for the memories guys; even though I know that it’s not over yet…

– Oak

Leave a Reply

 
