Grade A Certified

Alicia’s “Instant Classic”

Posted by J. Tinsley on December 16, 2009

Relax, it’s not a ghost.

Fact of the matter is, I’m inspired by what transpires around me. It could be taking the train everyday to school, something I see around the city or literally a completely random thought. Nahh, I don’t consider myself an artist, but I do appreciate great art whether it be in the form of music, movies, paintings or whatever. For the past two weeks now, I’ve found myself admiring a piece of art the lovely Miss Alicia Keys crafted on her new album, The Element of Freedom.

After initially seeing the tracklist for her album months ago, one track which instantly stood out was her Drake assisted record, “Unthinkable.” Looking strictly at their musical capabilities, it seemed like a close to perfect match with Alicia’s soulful, seductive voice and Drake having experience in the R&B realm of music and stellar song making capabilities. What it turned out to be was something better than I could have ever imagined. While Drake only served as background help, he did assist with co-writing the track which turned out to be one of the better R&B songs in recent memory. Alicia, on the other hand, crafted a beautiful silhouette of love and ambition.

The hook on this potential (and hopeful) single sticks to your mental regardless if you intend it to or not. Her lyrics are true, engaging and, at some point, everyone who has held an attraction to another person has had these exact thoughts race through their memory at some point. “Unthinkable” serves as a song which females will fawn over, but even males have to respect.

The definition of an “instant classic.”

DL: Alicia Keys feat. Drake – “Unthinkable (I’m Ready)”

3 Responses to “Alicia’s “Instant Classic””

  1. D Dotta said

    I must agree that this song drew my attention as well when I first overlooked A. Key’s compilation. However, it did surprise me just how soulful this song came out. I guess, I initially expected more of the same type of music that was produced from the Mary J. & Drake combination. However, A. Keys continues to impress me and the world I suppose with her talent. That is why I will continue to say that her music surpasses that of Beyonce’s (No Hate, seriously) due to the fact her music is more soulful and provides the opportunity to connect to her as well as the music’s message. Writing your own material is something I believe assists in making that happen.

    Great Write Up, love the verbiage.

    1 State of MIND
    MAKING BLACK HISTORY

  2. justinblaze1906 said

    D DOTTA IN THE BUILDING!!!!!!

  3. […] Alicia’s latest compilation has been receiving some mixed reviews from music critics. The Element of Freedom debuted at a relatively disappointing #2 on the Billboard charts. Stalling at the #2 spot can be called a slight disappointment due to the fact that this is Alicia’s first album to not debut at the top spot. However, the album still reached over 400,000 in sales for the first week of release. The subsequent weeks also helped to prove the album’s worth having been certified gold clocking in at over 700,000 copies sold since its December 15th, 2009 release date. The album also got the Grade A stamp from Grade A’s own J. Tinsley when he dubbed the Drake assisted track “Unthinkable” an Instant Classic. […]

Leave a Reply

 
