Grade A Certified

Clipse – Doorman x Popular Demand (Popeyes) Videos

Posted by Mr. Put On on November 18, 2009

Vodpod videos no longer available.

So the Road Til The Casket Drops has been a rather long one. Just about a year ago, that mixtape was ‘dropped’ and it was the beginning of this journey the Clipse have taken to where they are now. I’m not familiar with their management, but to whom it may concern, kudos. The album, Til the Casket Drops on December 8th and this road has been climactic. I’m honestly at my peek, and as excited as can be for this album as a two virgins on their wedding day. WAIT! WAIT! Tracklist and Popular Demand (video) inside….

As a marketing connoisseur of sorts myself, I think it’s something to be commended when you make me anticipate your album, having followed the process for a year now. I’m pretty hard to stir up; promotional schemes, advertisements, signings, and interviews just don’t get me like they once did. This time around, I’m all eyes and ears, as the Clipse turn this thing up, releasing two videos in less than two weeks, and actually 4 in the 4th quarter of 2009. Now if that’s not Grindin’ well then I don’t know what is. (I’m Good, I’m Good Remix, Doorman, Popular Demand)

I got my copy of Road Til’ the Casket Drops on December 1st of 2008. It was filled with remixes to all the hottest songs of that time frame such as Addiction, So Fly, Pop Champagne, and Swing Ya Rag […remember those?]. Now I won’t lie to you, but I hadn’t heard from the Clipse in some time, and being in the Hampton Roads I only saw them randomly at clubs ike Entourage in Norfolk, and found myself wondering “what happened to [them] boys…”? So when the mixtape hit the streets, (and if you go back and check the release date I got my copy early as usual) I was expecting the illest comeback mixtape in history.

Well, I think I gassed it too early, and disappointed myself. So I ran through it one time, and that was it. Then a few day’s later the Boy Wonder, DJ Tay James was like “Yo you hear that new Clipse?? That joint Crack”. Of course I was like “ehh it’s ight”, and so Tay threw it in the Bose system on the Lex Bubble, and we hit the road to LOVE in D.C. So on the ‘re-listen’ my mind was changed, and decided maybe it is kinda hot. Still, I know I expected more, and figured I’d wait Til the Casket dropped (pun CLEARLY intended).

Although the Clipse hadn’t been making too many mainstream TV appearances or found themself in the spotlight, they were never missed around the way. These brothers have stayed heavy in the streets and thats something that can’t and shouldn’t even be questioned, jus go up to NYC, or take yourself to downtown Norfolk, and I bet you probably just missed them, come back earlier in the day next week, and you’ll most likely see them. Although they’ve been to Hollywood many a time, they never went ‘Hollywood’ on the places they claim as home.

The I’m Good video showed exactly what the title stated, that they’re “Good”. On the other hand, the Popular Demand (Popeyes) video, and most especially the Doorman video conveyed that they surely haven’t forgotten where they came from, which is the first step in knowing where they’re headed. Having seen the finer things, yet keeping themselves involved in their roots, and the people/things that attribute to where they are now, I’m excited to get some of what they’ve been cookin up since December 1st 2008– and the sample only makes me want the full product more. (Take that how you want.)

Once again, Til’ the Casket Drops on December 8th. It’ll be chalk full of ‘brother’s only’ tracks with some cameos from Pharrell, Rick Ross, Kanye, Yo Gotti, etc. Surely there’ll be plenty of production from the Neptunes, which is always a spectacle in itself. I suggest you check out the two videos, and get your 7 or so dollars ready to cop the album. Make sure you check out the tracklist after the video as well.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
1 Speak of Freedom (prod. Sean C & LV)
2 Popular Demand (Popeyes) f. Cam’ron (prod. The Neptunes)
3 Kinda Like a Big Deal f. Kanye West (prod. DJ Khalil)
4 Showin’ Out f. Yo Gotti (prod. The Neptunes)
5 I’m Good feat. Pharrell (prod. The Neptunes)
6 There Was A Murder (prod. DJ Khalil)
7 Door Man (prod. The Neptunes)
8 Never Will It Stop f. Ab-Liva (prod. Sean C & LV)
9 Eyes On Me f. Keri Hilson (prod. The Neptunes)
10 Counseling (prod. The Neptunes)
11 Champion (prod. The Neptunes)
12 Footsteps (prod. DJ Khalil)
13 Life Change (prod. The Neptunes)
14 I’m Good (rmx) f. Rick Ross (prod. The Neptunes)
Leave a Reply

 
