Grade A Certified

Theo Smalling – lol :-) – Pray for him

Posted by Mr. Put On on October 25, 2009

Update 10/26/09 10:50am: At the moment, I’m unsure of the facts in this matter. News reports say that he is in critical condition at Riverside Hospital while the WOTS is that he’s already no longer with us. For those reasons I am hoping that you remove my previous insinuation of his death and replacing it with prayer.

The last status Theo put on his facebook this past Thursday was “lol :-)”. That phrase alone spoke mountains about the Hampton University Senior.

I don’t even know how to start this, so I’m just going keep it short. Theo was a big dude, of few words. He defined and exemplified “chill”. He always, always, always, tried to have fun. I only had four years to know him, since freshman year James Hall at Hampton University; but in those four years I got to know him pretty decently. As reported by The Daily Press He passed earlier today after being admitted to the hospital Friday Night (Saturday a.m.) from being shot ‘accidentally’ outside of Fusions on Mercury Blvd in Hampton, VA. He had been out celebrating his birthday (October 23rd) and enjoying the Hampton Homecoming festivities.

I don’t know the details, and I could care less. Theo didn’t deserve to pass at this young age. He was fun loving and always lightened the mood in any room. I’m still surprised, shocked, and disturbed to be writing this. For lack of better words– Damn this shit ain’t right. Life is so sacred, and so unpredictable. Remembering Theo has really helped me remember that no one should take life for granted, “here today, gone tomorrow”.

My prayers go to his family and closest friends. I know the feeling of unexpected personal loss, and there are questions that cannot be answered, prayer is the only thing we can rely on. If you’re reading this, please take a second to let your prayers reach his family and friends.

Theo, you will be missed, you were a kind-hearted individual and a joy to be around. I’ll miss your relaxed personality. R.I.P my dude, “Big Body” Theo, you’ll be remembered in the minds and hearts of many.

4 Responses to “Theo Smalling – lol :-) – Pray for him”

  1. Marvalous said

    Damn thats fuxed up… RIP to Theo Smalling

  2. Very well done. Do you write for any other blogs? Nicely done, Steven.

  3. Ulrike said

    I rarely write remarks, however I browsed a ton of
    remarks on Theo Smalling – lol 🙂 – Pray for him
    Grade A Certified. I actually do have a couple of questions for you if it’s allright. Is it just me or does it look like like a few of these responses come across like they are coming from brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are posting on additional online social sites, I would like to keep up with anything new you have to post. Could you list of all of all your social sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  4. Ken Johnson said

    I jus read this 5 yrs later , but I jus want to let u kno as one of Theo’s close friends… This was some real shit you said , and it couldn’t have been worded better… I just wante to thank you homie.

    KD

Leave a Reply

 
