Grade A Certified

What A Gucci Drake!

Posted by Mr. Put On on October 18, 2009

Normally the expression goes, “What a Good Day!”, but it was definitely Gucci Mane and Drizzy Drake who took precedent of the day. When a man has three Grade A tracks or puts out three WHOLE mixtapes for the streets in one day, you WIN. In light of Lil’ Wayne’s ways of flooding the market with new music, hip-hop has learned a new way to stay relevant. Just keep putting out music.

Now I wouldn’t actually say this was something new. In fact, it’s not new at all, it only makes sense. To stay relevant, you have to put out music. To stay EXTREMELY relevant, you have to put out a lot of music. Same goes for any other industry; put out, and you stay relevant. I can think of something else that goes for also, hmmm.

In the past 24 Drake gave us, Say Something which is this crack joint produced by Timbaland and snippet of King Leon, which is guaranteed to be a banger in its entirety. Then, we find Gucci Mane and Drizzy on Believe It or Not. So now I hope your ready to be confused because I definitely was with this.

By the end of the day, Believe It or Not transmutates into In My Business which adds a Sean Garrett feature. If you’re not confused, kudos. Now imagine your me, and you hear Believe It or Not earlier in the day, then all of a sudden you hear In My Business. After a day of listening to track, after track, after track, trying to sort out the Grade A Materials, I ended up thinking to myself “wait, Drake’s verse on In My Business is the same one on Believe It or Not“. Boy did I feel retarded when Tinsley cleared that up for me.

**So I just realized Drake’s verse on King Leon became that one Street Cred off of GucciAmerica. The confusion never stopped apparently.

So continuing on, we now get to Gucci mane. Three Mixtapes in the same Day! Is this what we’re doing now? Is this the new standard? If so, I can imagine a lot of B.S. being dropped. At the same time, that grind must be respected, and of course some bangers will come out of it. Currently though, all I’m hearing is Gucci Mane and Drake. Well let me go take some time to listen to all this music. You should too:

DL:

Drake – King Leon (snippet – check back for Full)

Drake – Believe It or Not (ft. Gucci Mane)

Drake – Say Something (prod. by Timbaland)

Gucci Mane – In My Business (ft. Drake & Sean Garrett) (ATF)

Gucci Mane – Street Cred (ft. Drake & Killer Mike) (ATF)

DJ Drama & Gucci Mane – The Cold War: Gucci America (RTNY)

DJ Scream & Gucci Mane – Great BRRRitain (RTNY)

DJ Holiday & Gucci Mane – Burrussia (RTNY)

Leave a Reply

 
