Grade A Certified

Sunday Afternoon Soul: July 5 Edition

Posted by J. Tinsley on July 5, 2009

This week. Last week. You know that means, I’m officially on a streak.

By the time the eleventh hour on December 31, 2009, arrives, I’ll officially be able to confirm Wyclef and Mary’s duet as one of my top ten records of the decade. While the criteria for a “perfect” song has yet to be defined, I’m officially placing this as one of its leading candidates. Released during the infant stages of the decade (summer 2000), it’s essentially the hood’s version of Romeo and Juliet with the video confirming this notion.

If there was ever an example of Mary’s greatness and why she deserves the title of the “Queen of Hip-Hop”, it’s this. Fueled by the combination of his storytelling auroa and guitar-drunken instrumental, Wyclef alone made the song a classic, but Mary’s first vocal appearance at the 2:10 mark sent the song into orbit. To this day I’m amazed at how Mary managed to encompass the most powerful human emotions into one song: pride, love, pain.

Sometimes I feel like I’m a prisoner
I think I’m trapped here for a while
And every breath I fight to take
Is as hard as these four walls I wanna break
I told the cops you wasn’t here tonight
Messin’ around with me is gonna get you life
Oh yeah, yeah
But everytime I look into your eyes
Then it’s worth the sacrifice…

Gets me every time, especially the ‘Messin’ around with me is gonna get you life’ line. I could go on and on about the power of this record, but the best description resonates from Mary and ‘Clef’s vocals, not my typed thoughts. Feel free to let this become the soundtrack to your evening and flashback to what you were doing during the summer of 2000.

The results might shock you.

Flashback: Sunday Afternoon Soul: June 28 Edition | Sunday Afternoon Soul: April 19 Edition

No Responses Yet to “Sunday Afternoon Soul: July 5 Edition”

  1. D Dotta said

    Powerful Stuff Tins…Truly, though this was one of your shorter pieces your words definitely rang true. Especially, how you mention Mary’s ability to encompass “pride, love, & pain,” all in one short feature.

  2. Dotta, appreciate that man. I’ve probably listened to this song over 500 times and Mary’s feature gets me every time. One of the best features on any record of all time…in my humble opinion.

Leave a Reply

 
