Grade A Certified

"Bob From Marketing…"

Posted by J. Tinsley on July 3, 2009

July 3 marks the day where Wal-Mart’s across the country will be bombarded for all materials related to a cookout from hamburger patties to bug spray and everything in between. In my case, it marks the start of a “Martin” marathon on TVOne set to start around 8 p.m. tonight. Obviously, while I won’t catch every episode (that I’ve seen 100 times already), the tube is set to record the entire shin-dig which should make for good laughs for the next two weeks.

After always seeing the likes of Martin’s more famous alter egos, Jerome and Otis, one of his funniest, yet slept on characters was “Bob From Marketing”.In all actuality, every one of his characters was hilarious (Dragon Fly Jones being my favorite), but this particular episode ranks as my favorite of all time. I can’t really explain why either, but if I had to pinpoint one thing, it’d be the phone conversation at the end of the clip.

I just wish ol’ Marty-Mar had utilized this character more often.

Also, while he didn’t “play” the character of “Varnell Hill” (Tommy Davidson), this also ranks as one of my favorite moments from the sitcom. Go ahead, name another show better than this. Trust me, I’ll wait…

Leave a Reply

 
