Grade A Certified

Mase's Inspiration For (Second) Comeback

Posted by J. Tinsley on July 2, 2009

For the past 72 hours I’ve been mulling over this post. Part of me wants to like Mase, especially seeing as how he was one of the hottest rappers during the post-Christopher Wallace Bad Boy era. As an easily influenced pre-teen during those days, the shiny suits were, at that time, the coolest thing in hip-hop. So much so that I even attempted to wear one to school one day. The lone problem being the only shiny suit I had was a Nike Windbreaker which was leagues different than the ensembles Puffy and Mase donned in nearly every video during that time.

Before I continue, it must be noted that Harlem World is a bonafide classic and one of the better debut albums in the past 15 years. With that being said however, once he made his exit from hip-hop in 1999, I hardly took notice. Fast forward five years later and his return to music excited me to the point I played “Welcome Back” multiple times a day with no shame or disregard. Disappointment quickly follow when I heard his next CD would be CLEAN with a gospel influence and his affiliation with a then-powerful G-Unit would soon prove worthless. No disrespect to clean or gospel music, but that’s what I have my favorite gospel artists for.

To each his own, but at that point, I was done with Mase. Even a G-Unit mixtape wasn’t enough to quiet my disdain for Betha. His claim to fame during this time was sipping on a steroid sized milkshake in France. Shortly after this, Mase returned to his congregation in Atlanta.

But, like the Olympics, Mase decided to return again after a four year hiatus and this time he’s dropped the pastor theme (I think). And you know what he claims as the inspiration this time? What else but the passing of Jacko.


Mike passed away and it just lit the fire in me — it made me go in the studio and do something. I’m excited,”
Mase told Power 105.1’s DJ Self. “I asked my nephew who is the hottest thing out there and he said, “Drake!’ When I listened to his music I said, ‘I’m going to jump on this joint.'”

Normally I don’t let my emotions get the best of me, but am I really supposed to believe Michael Jackson’s passing inspired him to rap again? Keeping it strictly 100, it’s a media ploy. anything to appear relevant in an industry that is as unforgiving as it is forgiving is his M.O. Personally, I’m done with Mase until further notice. By saying this, I understand I run the risk of potentially biting my words if he drops something extraordinary, but it’s a risk I’m more than willing to take.

As a true fan of hip-hop, there comes a point in time when a stance must be taken. Is it hip-hop or church? Betha has to make a choice because the two don’t mesh well, even if a rapper thanks the big man upstairs every time he/she wins an award or encounters trouble with the law. Add Jim Jones to my sh*t list as well  for apologizing to Mase. Not really, but his initial phone conversation with his fellow Harlemite still ranks as the #1 radio moment in my life.

Is that you, Betha?–(c) Jim Jones circa 2004

Hell, I don’t even think he knows anymore. By the way, the verse was average at best.

DL: Drake feat. Mase–Best I Ever Had (remix)

Flashback: Harry-O feat. Ron Browz & Mase–Uptown Boy (remix)

No Responses Yet to “Mase's Inspiration For (Second) Comeback”

  1. J Wiggins said

    Great write-up Justin. Mase was def the man, but this rapper/preacher/rapper thing is a bit too much. Gospel and hiphop are about as alike as oil and water. Mase was nice, but not nice enuf for me to put up with all this LOL

  2. LOL, yeah J-Wig, it’s too much man. I don’t even care what he has to say anymore. It’s irrelevant.

Leave a Reply

 
