Grade A Certified

The Strings of Soul: My Infatuation With The Acoustic Guitar

Posted by J. Tinsley on June 30, 2009

The one thing I have always loved about music was its near effortless way to recreate itself. The value of a good remix can never truly be underestimated and the right sample can essentially mean the difference between a hit and a dud. Live performances, for the most part, always bring a different element out of the song never heard on the radio or through iTunes.  However, one of my favorite musical creations has been that of the acoustic guitar.

Since I’ve always been a fan of “soul music”, the amount of soul unleashed by an acoustic guitar is nothing short of amazing. Allowing the listener to truly become entranced in a song is only one of the many benefits that come with instrument. In an effort to save time from my obvious obsession with the guitar, after the jump are several of my personal favorite songs performed with their acoustic version.

Enjoy.

Passion–Can’t Help But Wait/So Sick

  • I first heard him do “So Sick” in 2006 when the song was on nearly every radio station in America…simultaneously. Three years later, I’m still under the impression that I like this version SLIGHTLY more than Ne-Yo. I’m somewhat baffled this guy never received a record deal, however (or at least one I knew of).

Justin Bieber–One Time

  • I’m convinced this kid will morph into a star in the coming months. He’s like a 15 year old Robin Thicke.

Lauryn Hill–Peace Of Mind

  • My feelings towards L-Boogie are public knowledge. At this point, I’m not even asking for another album, just one more live performance like this. For that, I’d let Don Cornelius tell me his entire life story, similar to what he did on the B.E.T. Awards…only this time I’d take notes. Call me crazy, but I’m that big of a fan of Ms. Hill and will always regret I never received the opportunity to see her live. For the record, no disrespect to Don.

J. Cole–Losing My Balance

  • After watching this video over a year ago, it quickly became my favorite Cole song ever. Through months and months of unsuccessful searches, I was finally awarded for my patience when this record was included on his highly impressive and successful Roc Nation debut mixtape, “The Warm Up”.

Tupac feat. Nas–Thugz Mansion

  • “No one knows my struggle, they only see the trouble/ Not knowin’ it’s hard to carry on when no one loves you/ Picture me inside a misery of poverty/ No man alive has witnessed struggles I’ve survived…” Pac was one of the best at waxing poetics over somber beats such as this. Even with his animosity towards Nas while living, six years after his murder the Queensbridge legend recorded his own 16 for the lead single off Pac’s “Better Dayz”  (the last truly impressive postumous release from him) detailing the eternal resting home for “G’s”.
Leave a Reply

 
