Grade A Certified

Rock With You

Posted by Mr. Put On on June 29, 2009

The image of the video for the song “Rock With You” is engraved in my minds memory. The smoke, the lasers, and the shiny suit. All dope.

I feel kind of ashamed that I haven’t listened to the song that basically influenced my musical taste in years, so it’s only natural that I write this in wake of the creator of that song’s passing while listening to it.

I haven’t fed much into the media/twitter spiral of coverage on my man’s passing because of the negativity. Since Thursday I’ve only read Urban Social’s article on fem-fatl.com and today listened to my man Tariq Nasheed King Flex on Macklessons Radio, which prompted me to write this. My own blog has also omitted coverage until now, mainly because I write for a living & so why do it for free?

I’ve tried to abstain from listening to his music for as long as possible until I had time to really listen to his whole catalog and really understand for myself what an impact on my childhood and American culture he had.

That can’t be done only through music.

You have to look at his humanitarian efforts around the world that he did for the betterment of the human race. A quick wiki search today reminded me how I FORGOT about his 9/11 benefit concert and various other positive social contributions that his legacy provided.

Literally, as I type this 1 of my co-workers just said that they are more upset about Billy Mays passing ( the oxy clean guy) more than Michael Jackson. His reasoning was, “Him being linked to any child sex abuse allegations is it for me.” “No forensic evidence!” I quickly shouted from my cubicle.

As my man King Flex said, you have to check people. He did a lot more than any other entertainer with his status to bring about social change and no one really stood up for him in his times of need.

The song, “What More Can I Give” ended his 9/11 benefit concert at RFK stadium and while there may be attempts to tarnish his legacy he should be remembered as a person that had a positive impact on society and gave us each memorable moments in time.

What’s yours?

7 Responses to “Rock With You”

  1. WOW, this is really good. So many people forget about all of the humanitarian acts that he did, that really made him the icon that he still is today. Even with all the b.s. and accusations he got put & went through through, he had such a positive outlook on life and created a major positive impact on our society. This was a good read!!!

  2. Money said

    Cool.

  3. nick L. said

    Good read, good read. We lost a legend, wayy too early too. MJ’s influence on not only listeners and fans, but other artists as well shaped the *entire* music industry. Not just hiphop, not pop, the entire spectrum. And he did it worldwide. While people like to comment on his personal issues, he’s allegations… they do it out of awe in the first place.

    It’s strange even saying it… but damn. Michael Jackson… is… dead. wtf?

  4. Laurin J. said

    Great article KG! When I first heard about MJ passing away, I was sad because we lost a really great icon not just in our community, but the entire world.

    At first, I had some negative comments, but that was caused by all of the buffonery acts that some folks were doing in response to him passing. Sad to say that I quickly ignored all of the Humanitarian acts he did while on this earth. But thank you KG for reminding me!!

    P.S. Rock with you is one of my fave MJ songs as well!

  5. Laurin J. said

    Great article KG! When I first heard about MJ passing away, I was sad because we lost a really great icon not just in our community, but the entire world.

    At first, I had some negative comments, but that was caused by all of the buffonery acts that some folks were doing in response to him passing. Sad to say that I quickly ignored all of the Humanitarian acts he did while on this earth. But thank you KG for reminding me!!

    P.S. Rock with you is one of my fave MJ songs as well!

  6. MissKG said

    Awesome Job, KG. My most memorable MJ moment was when my cousin Ashley and I used to go crazy over “Earth Song.” She used to fantasize about “running away with him and getting married.” That still makes me chuckle to this day. But Earth Song was my jam…and so were many other songs of his. RIP MJ…He left us so many good things.

  7. Ms. Thomas said

    Truer words could have never been spoken. MJ was a legend (still is a legend rather…) and for others to neglect everything he’s done in his lifetime to entertain, aid, and uplift the world community simply through allegations which he was aquitted of surely shows the ignorance of our peers. As long as there remains those of us who know how wonderful of a man he really was and continue to appreciate his legacy, he will forever live on. That was a well written article KG– I’m glad someone speaks about this amazing man in a positive light instead of the negative glare that the media is deciding to depict him in. I understand that the media has to be objective but realistically speaking everyone knows that there is no such thing in words are always used to sway the public to a particular opinion…thank you for showing the truth in this man– thank you from all his fans and from everyone who is truly sad of his death

Leave a Reply

 
