Grade A Certified

The Safest Car EVER MADE?

Posted by T. Adeyemi on June 27, 2009

First, let me say that this post is in no way, shape, or form intended on being a source of comedy. Horrific accidents happen everyday, I’ve been involved in three accidents myself. And thankfully for me none of them were my fault; in fact I wasn’t even the driver in two situations. But more importantly no one in my experiences with motor vehicle accidents was seriously injured either. So from literally wishing for my two front teeth for Christmas at age 7 after my first accident til now, I present to you maybe today’s safest car.

Earlier this week in Springfield, Massachusetts a young woman drove her car off of a downtown parking garage. Apparently, the woman accidentally shifted her car into reverse and in turn pressed down on the gas pedal with such force that she reversed her vehicle straight through the barrier on the fourth level of the parking garage.

After the woman was taken to a local hospital police were able to question her as to how this accident occurred. 31 year old Erin Juarez said that she was attempting to back into a space in the parking garage when she mistakenly pushed the gas pedal instead of the brake. Also, the police were informed that Juarez was several months pregnant.

Fortunately, Juarez was wearing a seat belt at the time of the accident, which probably aided in saving her life. Surprisingly, Juarez left the hospital after a brief stay with only minor non-life threatening injuries and with her baby unharmed.

Police said that it was the fact that she was wearing a seat belt and her safety efficient 2008 Hyundai Elantra that saved her and her unborn child’s life. For someone like me who is currently looking for a new car it makes me think twice about going with a car because of its features rather than its safety standards. Hyundai might not be the most stylish brand of vehicles, but at least I’m sure if you asked Erin Juarez it was the safest car she had ever driven.

2 Responses to “The Safest Car EVER MADE?”

  1. YM said

    Woooow thats crazy!!!!! I dont have car yet, but most of the people at JMU cant drive yun, they just cant…….

  2. That’s freakin’ amazing.

Leave a Reply

The Safest Car EVER MADE?

Posted by T. Adeyemi on June 27, 2009

First, let me say that this post is in no way, shape, or form intended on being a source of comedy. Horrific accidents happen everyday, I’ve been involved in three accidents myself. And thankfully for me none of them were my fault; in fact I wasn’t even the driver in two situations. But more importantly no one in my experiences with motor vehicle accidents was seriously injured either. So from literally wishing for my two front teeth for Christmas at age 7 after my first accident til now, I present to you maybe today’s safest car.

Earlier this week in Springfield, Massachusetts a young woman drove her car off of a downtown parking garage. Apparently, the woman accidentally shifted her car into reverse and in turn pressed down on the gas pedal with such force that she reversed her vehicle straight through the barrier on the fourth level of the parking garage.

Read the rest of this entry »

2 Responses to “The Safest Car EVER MADE?”

  1. YM said

    Woooow thats crazy!!!!! I dont have car yet, but most of the people at JMU cant drive yun, they just cant…….

  2. That’s freakin’ amazing.

Leave a Reply

 
