Grade A Certified

The Greatest Of All Time; Michael Jackson Dies At 50

Posted by J. Tinsley on June 25, 2009

Damn, first Farrah Fawcett. Now this. Maybe the world IS coming to an end.

I had so many other items to post, but quite frankly none of them matter right now. In a story that started a few hours ago with “The King of Pop” being rushed to the hospital ended in the worst way imaginable. The man who had endured so many hardships throughout the last 20 years of his life (most of them he brought upon himself), Michael Jackson, has died at the age of 50.

It’s odd because although I had never agreed with his personal decisions, I have always loved and respected his music. The impact of his art is unexplainable being known from every neighborhood in America to the most impoverished nations across the globe. As I type this, I really can’t find the words to really explain how I truly feel. June 25, 2009, will forever go down in history, and years down the road we will find ourselves reminicising about what we were doing when Michael Jackson took his last breath.

My first introduction to music was through Michael Jackson and my mom when I was four years old (she remembers it, not me). While I could never perfect the “Moonwalk”, I knew the standard for entertainment was set with Joe’s boy. My respect level for Jacko is out of this world. At the age of 50, his body probably resembled that of a 95 year old. He had been in the public eye since he was five and the stress of the music industry and being a worldwide icon takes its toll after awhile, so in essence maybe I shouldn’t be too surprised.

More so than anything, I thank Mike for his music and helping me to become the music enthusiast I am today. While I hate doing these types of posts after a person dies, no one in their right mind knew MJ was going to pass this morning. It happened so quick no one had time to brace themselves, which is the exact reason everyone has the same reaction. “Huh, not MJ…” Even Quincy Jones is stunned…

“I am absolutely devastated at this tragic and unexpected news. For Michael to be taken away from us so suddenly at such a young age, I just don’t have the words.

Divinity brought our souls together on The Wiz and allowed us to do what we were able to throughout the 80’s.

To this day, the music we created together on “Off The Wall,” “Thriller” and “Bad” is played in every corner of the world and the reason for that is because he had it all…talent, grace, professionalism and dedication.

He was the consummate entertainer and his contributions and legacy will be felt upon the world forever.”

Accepting a new angel into heaven has to feel like the exact opposite of losing a loved one on Earth, so in a wierd sense, this is a good thing. I guess. I’m just saying whatever to hide the hurt I have right now. Never having once met the man, I feel as if a family member of mine has died. However, the beautiful thing about music is that it lives forever. And so will Mike.

As I close this out, I have no clue where it came from, a single tear rolls down my face. Even as I type this, I can’t begin to do this man’s legacy justice. It’s just the only way I know how to vent myself.

R.I.P. to the greatest entertainer of all time, bar none.

Flashback: Michael Jackson Announces Comeback | “Coming Full Circle…”

Look at the reaction he gets. Amazing, simply amazing.

No Responses Yet to “The Greatest Of All Time; Michael Jackson Dies At 50”

  1. Contra™ said

    Very well said JT.

    I still havent found the courage or strength to go back and start reminiscing on where this whole process and journey began. Part of me thinks I really shouldnt. We’re all fully aware of the man’s legacy and his impact on our lives, our cultures, our world and generations of people past and yet to come. In 50 years he did what no one before or after him has been able to accomplish, and for that, I respect him. Granted, there were moments of questionable accusations that made even the biggest of fans like myself step back aghast. But what he left us with is nothing short of an icon to be proud of and a hero to look up to.

    My tribute to him shall be to do as much with my years as possible and make sure his name and legacy lives on.

    Salutes to the king.

Leave a Reply

 
