Grade A Certified

HAPPY FATHER'S DAY

Posted by J. Tinsley on June 21, 2009

There are a boatload of reasons why this remains my favorite song of all time, regardless of genre. One happens to be that on three days out of the year, the significance of this masterpiece reached elevated levels. Those days being my mother’s birthday, Mother’s Day and today, Father’s Day. Not to be confused with the bitter kid who never met his father, I’ve grown accustomed to growing up with just my mother, grandmother and brother and in a sense, I liked it better that way.

Now ain’t nobody tell us it was fair
No love for my daddy cause the coward wasn’t there
He passed away and I didn’t cry
Cause my anger wouldn’t let me feel for a stranger
They say I’m wrong and I’m heartless
But all along I was lookin’ for a father, he was gone

The realest lines ever recorded to a beat, at least in my eyes. But let’s be honest, this day is about the father’s who remain positive role models in their kids lives, whether they live with them or not. Life happens and people don’t always stay together, but for the men who hold the bond with their child or children sacred, those are the gentlemen I tip my hat to.

Happy Father’s Day to all (who deserve it)!

No Responses Yet to “HAPPY FATHER'S DAY”

  1. D Dotta said

    That’s some real sh*t right there, no other way to say it. I too, have had a strained relationship with my father. And although I know him by face, I don’t know him by spirit and I think that’s what I missed most as a child. Yet, I still see myself as one of the lucky ones, because I’ve always had a grandfather, godfather, & 3 uncles to pick up the slack he left behind.

    You know its funny, I saw my father about 2 weeks ago at an event he didn’t know I was going to be at. Its surprising how much love you get when you’re the one that acts like they don’t care about the other.

    HAPPY FATHER’S DAY to My 5 Father Figures!

Leave a Reply

 
