Grade A Certified

BLACK COLLEGE FOOTBALL VIDEO GAME

Posted by J. Tinsley on June 19, 2009

As a kid growing up, my dream job was becoming an anchor on SportsCenter. While it still is somewhat, I keenly remember my mother telling me, “Justin, when you make it to ESPN you have to promise me you’re going to put black college highlights on there.” While they will never receive the publication and adoration their predominately white institutions boast, black schools are most certainly one of a kind.

With my mother attending a HBCU (Historically Black College and University), it was all but a forgone conclusion that I, too, would. Personally, I wouldn’t trade my experiences at Hampton University for anything in the world. Instead of making this a reflection post, I’ll keep it related to the video above.

If someone would have told me five years ago that a video game regarding black college football programs, Iwould have believed the possibilities of that happening equaled Hampton’s chances of being #1 in the BCS polls. Consider this a classic case of “never say never”. The halftime shows are an excellent addition with a “Guitar Hero” feel.

I’m not even a video game player. Hell, I bought NBA 2K9 and only played it twice. But this one, this is one game I’m going to have to support.

I wonder if they’ll have fraternities and sororities strolling in the stands. Ok, maybe that’s TOO far.

No Responses Yet to “BLACK COLLEGE FOOTBALL VIDEO GAME”

  1. D Dotta said

    Awwww Shit ShoRtY! I’m coppin that…Imma go Nick Cannon on that halftime drumline part to ShortY!

Leave a Reply

 
