Grade A Certified

TOP 7 ALBUMS YET TO DROP IN 2009 (REVISED) T. ADEYEMI EDITION

Posted by T. Adeyemi on June 12, 2009

Occasionally around here at CRM we(meaning Justin, Liad, & Myself) take part in healthy, worldly, and intelligent conversation/debate. A lot of times these discussions lead to the posts that we publish for the world to view. However, more times than is ever noted in these posts our debates end in somewhat vehement disagreements. With that being said, I present to you my list of albums yet to drop in 2009 in response to the list Justin previously provided.

Oh, and Why seven? You gotta ask Justin on that one. I’m just a Puppet in his world of strings.

First, let me say that some of my “Most Anticipated in 2009” have already touched down on your nearest Best Buy shelves. (Circuit City I beg you to come back fully, I HATE all the great service that those blue & yellow polo shirts with earpieces at Best Buy give me. Where’s my dim light & “Out of Stock” signs?) Anyway, Jadakiss’s album “The Last Kiss” was a pleasantly solid surprise that provided a perfect segway to my current embodiment, Officer Ricky’s latest effort “Deeper Than Rap.” Both of them strayed away from the normal April fools’ with their spring time releases, which helped me to escape from the lack luster effort that was Joey’s “Padded Room.” So now here’s those I still have some faith left in.

7) Wale – Attention: Deficit I know I know, some of you guys reading this probably still haven’t even listened to one word from D.C. rapper Wale. But with every lyric that I hear from Mr. “Nike Boots” himself, I become just a little bit more of a fan. I will admit he didn’t initially blow me away, but after countless spins of his now famous mixtapes, “100 Miles & Running” and “The Mixtape About Nothing” I can’t deny being a serious fan. To me, Wale represents everywhere Hip-Hop is going. He is not the “backpacker” type, and at the same time so far above attempting to play the thug role. Look for his debut album to drop sometime late summer/fall.

6) Clipse – ‘Til the Casket Drops With the single “Kinda Like a Big Deal” appearing on it seems every Dj’s summer mixtape, and the song receiving moderate airplay one would think the Clipse would be poised for a comeback of sorts. Although the Clipse sophomore effort received the impressive “XXL” rating from XXL magazine, “Hell Hath No Fury” still has yet to come close to gold status. The brothers unfortunately made the transition from platinum to gold with their first two albums, but after seeking production outside of just The Neptunes it seems they’ve decided platinum was more to their liking.

5) Dr. Dre – Detox/ Andre 3000 – TBA At first I wasn’t going to be like EVERY other blog site and list either one of these albums. Anyone of sound mind & body knows that the likelihood of these two albums ever reaching “legal” distribution is as likely as the government ever legalizing everyone’s favorite herbal substance. So why then? Why even list them at all? Hopelessly inside I still harbor a false sense of optimism that one if not both will see the light of day. I’m placing my bet on Mr. Benjamin’s surfacing first, if only because I’m counting on Big Boi pressuring him into recording AT LEAST a follow-up to “Speakerboxxx/Love Below.”


4) Trey Songz – Ready As much as I wanted to put my Homie even higher on the list, the truth is he still has something to prove. I can only wish so much success on Trey, the next step is to link up with the right management & marketing team that is able to capitalize on the game’s best known secret. In saying that, I hope Trey is aligned with his new album title and is “Ready” for superstar status come August 4th. Put me down for one of the copies, YuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuP!


3) Jay-Z – Blueprint 3 What can I say about this man that hasn’t already been recycled ten times over? Jay-Z continues to find new ways musically and beyond to stay relevant and influence several generations. And with his latest State of the Union address he has found another way to become the most hated or beloved once more.

“I see I said, jealousy I said/Got the whole industry mad at me I said/Then B.I. said, “Hov’ remind yourself/Nobody built like you, you designed yourself'” A Dream – Blueprint 2

2)Kanye West – Good *ss Job Let’s take this moment to give Mr. West a round of applause…Thank You, that applause was in celebration for Mr. West’s decision to end his fixation with the synthesizer and go back to the Louie bag, Polo shirt Kanye of yesteryear. Now, don’t take that Thank You as a sign that I was not a fan of “808 & Heartbreaks,” because I definitely was. I just can’t stand the amount of people that were so ready to discredit ‘Ye for all the amazing and innovative music he has given us because of one depressed, lonely, & venting effort. 808 fan or not, you must admit Kanye’s career has been a good *ss job.

1) Drake – Thank Me Later Can this dude do anything wrong right now? Obviously not! Everyone’s favorite rapper’s newest favorite rapper is set to drop sometime around when school goes back in session. And I can’t think of any other artist I would choose to become the backdrop to my last year of college. Frankly, Drake’s seemingly endless wave of interest does not look likely to end anytime soon. Even if Drake’s debut album never shows, “So Far Gone” will continue to hold a spot in my stereo as one of the best mixtapes I’ve ever had.

“Be Real, Be True, Keep it 100.”

Flashback: Justin’s Top 7 Albums Yet to Drop in 2009

4 Responses to “TOP 7 ALBUMS YET TO DROP IN 2009 (REVISED) T. ADEYEMI EDITION”

  1. TiMiD said

    I have been busy working the Minister’s Conference so I haven’t had the time to get my daily dose of CRM. I have read both J. Tinsley and Adeyemi’s Top 7 Albums yet to drop in 2009, i must say that I have to side with J. Tinsley. Only because he has Maxwell’s Black Summer’s Night on the list.
    But on the real Trey Songz need to get a whole new marketing/pr team cuz MANY slept on his first album, and EVEN MORE people slept on his sophomore release. I expect nothing but greatness once again, since he has kept his name in the streets with his mixtapes.

    Now can i present a challenge?!?! CRM’s top producers/songwriters in the game past, present and future

  2. TiMiD said

    I have been busy working the Minister’s Conference so I haven’t had the time to get my daily dose of CRM. I have read both J. Tinsley and Adeyemi’s Top 7 Albums yet to drop in 2009, i must say that I have to side with J. Tinsley. Only because he has Maxwell’s Black Summer’s Night on the list.
    But on the real Trey Songz need to get a whole new marketing/pr team cuz MANY slept on his first album, and EVEN MORE people slept on his sophomore release. I expect nothing but greatness once again, since he has kept his name in the streets with his mixtapes.

    Now can i present a challenge?!?! CRM’s top producers/songwriters in the game past, present and future

  3. **Smacks self for forgetting Wale**

  4. **Smacks self for forgetting Wale**

Leave a Reply

 
