Grade A Certified

TGIF "Thank GOD I Can Flashback": Kelly Price

Posted by T. Adeyemi on June 12, 2009

It is Friday once again, and I must admit this week has been an up & down rollercoaster of emotions and events. For me, this has been the kind of week that makes you look forward to that chance to have some time to yourself just to sit and breathe. Yet, in the midst of my hastiness to have this week come to an abrupt end it seemed like Friday would not come fast enough. However, in times like this I would have to say I can’t help but tip my cap to M.I.M.S. when I too say, Music Is My Savior.

Once again, Thank You for the emails, texts, and tweets giving suggestions on what artist or song should be the focus of this week’s Friday flashback. But after last week’s re-emergence of Mr. Biggs it seemed only fitting that I highlight someone who he assisted in jumpstarting their career. Someone who embodies the soul of a woman, one Ms. Kelly Price.

From her humble beginnings of singing in the church in Queens, NY at just 5 or 6 years old Kelly grew into a complete woman. The girl that used to move her fellow churchgoers in her home church of Full Gospel Mission Church of God in Christ in Queens had become a full-figured woman with an even fuller voice by 1997. That year Price’s debut album entitled, “Soul of a Woman” marked the arrival of a woman many compared to Aretha Franklin in stature and Patti LaBelle in vocal ability.

“Soul of a Woman” showed off Price’s ability to connect with a new demographic of women. The success of the album was certainly aided by the thriving R&B scene at the time when the album debuted number 15 on the Billboard charts. The album’s most recognized track was that of “Friend of Mine,” a song that still today is Price’s most touted. The success that was “Friend of Mine” was capitalized on by its now infamous remix featuring Ronald “Mr. Biggs” Isley & R. Kelly. In a role that Isley had by then perfected, he played Price’s godfather who was looking to set the cheating R. Kelly straight who played Price’s husband. The remix reached number 1 on teh Billboard charts and helped Price’s album reach double platinum status.

Kelly’s confidence and authentic subject matter helped to propel her career beyond her first album. To date, Price has released 5 studio albums that have spawned numerous hit singles. Price has been nominated for multiple Grammy awards for her singles, “As We Lay”, “He Proposed”, and “Friend of Mine.”

The diva that is Kelly Price is now over 100 pounds slimmer after deciding on her own that she should lose the weight. After suffering through witnessing not only her own mother, but her mother-in-law suffer battles with cancer Kelly felt the need to lose the weight. Unfortunately, her mother-in-law was overcome by the disease and passed away. In listening to Kelly’s music its easy to feel what she is putting out. Big girl, small girl, Kelly will always have a place as one of my Soul Sistas that make music my savior.

As a bonus I included the Whitney Houston release (in between the crack sessions) that featured both Faith Evans & Kelly Price, “Heartbreak Hotel.” By the way, did you know Whitney has a new album on the way for the fall? You never know, she can still sing and she still thinks she’s a diva.

Take the Time and Flashback…

“Be Real, Be True, Keep It 100.”

4 Responses to “TGIF "Thank GOD I Can Flashback": Kelly Price”

  1. This is easily one of the better additions to the site. Keep this up man.

  2. This is easily one of the better additions to the site. Keep this up man.

  3. Taboo said

    For the past couple of weeks I have looked forward to these TGIF blogs and this week’s was by far the best! I too share your love of Kelly Price and her powerful voice; this song was one of her best and the remix made it even better. I would like to thank you for giving additional information on the artists you profile that many people (like myself) were unaware of. I can’t wait to flashback with you next week!

  4. Taboo said

    For the past couple of weeks I have looked forward to these TGIF blogs and this week’s was by far the best! I too share your love of Kelly Price and her powerful voice; this song was one of her best and the remix made it even better. I would like to thank you for giving additional information on the artists you profile that many people (like myself) were unaware of. I can’t wait to flashback with you next week!

Leave a Reply

 
