Grade A Certified

"THE TIME HAS COME…"

Posted by J. Tinsley on June 4, 2009

It’s honestly felt like an eternity since the last time I’ve seen professional basketball on television. Since Sunday, I’ve been getting a full fledged preview of what’s to come on SportsCenter starting later this month…all baseball, mixed in with some tennis and the occasional Tiger Woods sighting.  While I don’t mind baseball, my favorite team, the Braves, haven’t been worth anything in quite sometime now.  Which is exactly why I’m more excited for this series than my girl was when she found out the “Sex In The City” movie was getting a sequel.

I’ll keep this short and sweet because I know Tyrell has his in-depth preview coming soon. In the meantime, let me answers a few questions I’ve been receiving all week since The King’s not-so-graceful exit from the postseason.

1) So, Justin, who are you pulling for?

  • Naturally, you’d think I would be pulling for the Lakers seeing as how the Magic beat the Cavs LeBron. However, that is not the case. I’m not pulling for anyone in particular, I just want to see a great series, seven games if I’m lucky. Forget this “facilitator” Kobe though, give me my money worth, Bean. Drop 42 points while going 13-38 from the floor with one assist and two rebounds. That’s the Mamba I want to see. And D-Howard, if you happen to read this before tip-off, I want to see 30 and 20 out of you. In Lehman’s terms, I want a shootout.


2) Ok, so who do you think is going to win?

  • Truthfully, I’d love to see Kobe get a fourth ring and for the handful of Kobe fans I respect, I hope he does get it (and Shaq does too). However, the majority of Mamba supporters just became fans since he switched his number and were the same people who co-signed Iverson so much during the early part of this decade. So you know what, I’m going to play devil’s advocate and say Magic in 7. Dwight Howard gets Finals MVP by averaging 25 points, 16 rebounds and 3 blocks per contest.

3) Most interesting matchup?

  • Aside from hoping to see the league’s greatest player in action, DJ Mbenga, the most intriguing match-up is going to feature that of Adam Morrison and JJ Redick. These guys were the co-players of the year in college a few years back and really haven’t amounted to much since they stopped going to class. Morrison’s career went down hill when he cut the stache. P.R. FAIL. However, a good friend of mine brought up the idea that these two should be the new puppets. That’d be television I’d pay to see.

4) But you know Kobe is better than LeBron and always will be, right? LeBron sucks…

See, right about there is where the conversation stops and I go about continuing to live my everyday life.

Look for Tyrell’s hypothesis on the series coming soon. As if you don’t know who he’s picking already…

Leave a Reply

 
