Grade A Certified

THE QUINTESSENTIAL WEST COAST HEAD GARMENT

Posted by J. Tinsley on May 30, 2009


While Nipsey Hussle, Jay Rock and The Game are the “new” faces to West Coast hip-hop, we’ll be hard pressed to ever see dominance like we saw from California in the early-to-mid ’90s. Their resume goes without saying and the songs that were cultivated in that part of the country during that time frame are nothing short of hip-hop classics (well, most of them).

During my past literary endeavors on this site, I’ve made no secret to my admiration for left coast rap. But honestly, this post isn’t even about music.

The movies that centered around urban life in Cali (“Boyz N The Hood”, “Menace II Society”, “Poetic Justice”, etc.) only increased my infatuation with the 31st state. As I grew older, I soon recognized the lifestyles in those films weren’t exactly the path I was attempting to follow. But this isn’t about movies and how I wanted to be Eazy E for Halloween one year (pre-AIDS of course), it’s about one thing that symbolized the era…the hat.

Nothing says vintage 1990’s West Coast like an L.A. Kings or Oakland Raiders or Chicago White Sox hat. Not the fitted either, but the one with adjustable strap in the back. It was the hat you wore to school, to a house party, hell, even to a drive by (not that I condone those). In the grand scheme of things, it was the white tee before the white tee became the white tee, if that makes any sense. Come to think of it, maybe it was the simple color scheme, but whatever it was, it had me wanting to call everyone I came in contact with a “mark ass buster”.

For the record, early 1990’s Ice Cube > damn near anyone you can think of.

Shout out to the homie Adam Goldston. Twitter is a helluva machine, I tell ya.

One Response to “THE QUINTESSENTIAL WEST COAST HEAD GARMENT”

  1. Chris said

    are you selling it?

Leave a Reply

 
