Grade A Certified

"Birthday Sex" in RawSession

Posted by T. Adeyemi on May 26, 2009

If you haven’t heard the smooth and seductive track “Birthday Sex” by now, then you clearly are out of the loop musically. Although, you may have not seen or heard from its 21-year old writer and singer outside of this one track. Jeremih, who is from south-side Chicago is the newest edition to Def Jam’s roster.

Having graduated high school at the tender age of 16, Jeremih’s initial focus was not on becoming a music star. Instead, after high school he had enrolled in the University of Illinois engineering science program. But after one semester Jeremih says that he felt his mind was going in a different direction, and he felt his life should follow suit. Thus, prompting him to transfer to Columbia College of Chicago which is a school dedicated to the arts. At Columbia College the budding performer became entrenched in the school’s talent show scene playing several instruments. But, it was Jeremih’s decision to sing that seperated him from the pack and brought out well absorbed tracks like “My Ride.”

After hooking up with a classmate that was into musical engineering and producing Jeremih says he penned his breakthrough track “Birthday Sex” in late Septmeber-October of 2008. After garnering major success on the Chicago airwaves Jeremih flew out to New York city to audition for Def Jam headman L.A. Reid. L.A. was so enthralled by Jeremih’s live performance and style that he signed him immediately.

Which brings us here. Recently, Jeremih sat down to do an acoustic version of “Birthday Sex” for RawSession. And during his performance it isnt hard to catch a glimpse of the potential L.A. Reid saw when he signed him.

“I have no boundaries,” he says. “It excites me to see what there is to come. I’m a writer, I’m a singer, I’m a producer, and I can play instruments. I feel like that’s what sets me apart from all the other artists out there.”

With a self-titled album reportedly scheduled to drop later this year, its pretty certain that there will be plenty more Jeremih sightings. Also, check him out on Fabolous’s new single “It’s My Time.”

4 Responses to “"Birthday Sex" in RawSession”

  1. For as dope as this song is…I think we can agree that Trey’s attempt over this beat was equally as impressive.

    With that said though, I’m still interested to see what an entire album from this guy will sound like.

  2. For as dope as this song is…I think we can agree that Trey’s attempt over this beat was equally as impressive.

    With that said though, I’m still interested to see what an entire album from this guy will sound like.

  3. D Dotta said

    You know what, I’m usually all for giving Trey the nod on doing many a remixes. However, as much as I enjoyed Trey’s take. There’s something about the original that just sticks for me. It just sounds right, especially after hearing the acoustic version now.

    And I’ve heard 2 other tracks of his, both were pretty good, so I am excited for his first major label release.

  4. D Dotta said

    You know what, I’m usually all for giving Trey the nod on doing many a remixes. However, as much as I enjoyed Trey’s take. There’s something about the original that just sticks for me. It just sounds right, especially after hearing the acoustic version now.

    And I’ve heard 2 other tracks of his, both were pretty good, so I am excited for his first major label release.

Leave a Reply

 
