Grade A Certified

"SAN BERNARDINO, SURF CLUB GANG…"

Posted by J. Tinsley on May 24, 2009

It’s no secret Drake’s nationwide tour has been documented more than Obama’s first 100 days in office, but I’m really only posting this for one reason, the Surf Club shout out at the :26 mark. While I only know Chase personally, I do know that the entire group is one of the hardest working entities in music right now, probably the main reason I rock with their music so much. “Beach Boys meet the hood” is probably the most accurate description I’ve heard thus far because it defines their style almost to the tee.

It’s crazy because I actually met the homie Chase on some fluke sh*t in all honesty. The story plays out like this. I happened to download their record with Weezy, “I Can’t Miss”, awhile back and felt it so much that I posted it here.  A few hours later, homie left a comment on the site saying how much he appreciated the gesture. Hell, what he didn’t know was that I appreciated the comment more than him appreciating the upload. From there, we’ve chopped it up about everything from music, to sports, to life in the industry, even to these young ladies. He’s also responsible for assisting me with my most popular post to date.

Regardless, the progression of Chase, Chili Chill, B. Carr, Hit Boy and the group’s First Lady, Stacy Barthe, is becoming harder and harder to ignore.  With co-signs from Robin Thicke, Diddy, Drake, Polow Da Don and Don Cannon to name a few, the stamp of approval is there, the rest of the industry just has to open the envelope.

Hit the jump for pics from the show.

Bonus: Ciara–When I (written by Stacy Barthe)

Flashback: Surf Club x Polow Da Don on Keri Hilson’s “Knock You Down” Video Set | Surf Club x Robin Thicke In Los Angeles | Drake: “I Want This Forever…” | Surf Club in the Studio w/ Diddy | Surf Club @ Diddy’s House during Grammy Week | Chili Chill-Get At Me

One Response to “"SAN BERNARDINO, SURF CLUB GANG…"”

  1. MiaMck said

    San Bernardino held this shit down..straight up. it was a pleasure working w Drake & his ppl. Surf Club was def n the bldg…on stage, hella supporting. cant wait 2 see what the future holds for all of these young men. Kudos!

    twitter.com/miamck (holla @ me!)
    twitter.com/cmoore818 (the concert’s photographer, photos feat on theybf.com)
    twitter.com/klark_kent1911 (the SUPER NUPE who put this whole concert 2gthr)

Leave a Reply

 
